Kanit Font

by Cadson Demak
Download 21109 downloads
Size: Preview
 
Kanit Font preview

Kanit means mathematics in Thai, and the Kanit typeface family is a formal Loopless Thai and Sans Latin design. It is a combination of concepts, mixing a Humanist Sans Serif motif with the curves of Capsulated Geometric styles that makes it suitable for various uses, contemporary and futuristic. A notable detail is that the stroke terminals have flat angles, which allows the design to enjoy decreased spacing between letters while preserving readability and legibility at smaller point sizes.

In Thai typeface design the formal loopless Thai typefaces have more simple forms than the conservative looped Thai designs, and this simplification has to be done properly in order to preserve the essential character of each letter. Sizes and positions of vowels and tone marks need to be managed carefully because they are all relevant to readability, legibility, and overall textures. When designing Kabit, special care was taken with some groups of letters such as ก ถ ภ ฤ ฦ, ฎ ฏ, บ ป, and ข ช to ensure they are distinct and legible, because it might lead to confusion if each glyph is not clear enough.

Kanit is the first Thai font family to be hinted with TTFAutohint, an easy-to-use hinting tool that is highly recommended.

The Kanit project is led by Cadson Demak, a type foundry in Thailand. To contribute, see github.com/cadsondemak/kanit

License

SIL Open Font License - OFL (Free for Commercial Use)

Uploaded on

07 April, 2018

18 font files

Kanit Thin style Kanit Thin | OpenType | kanit-thin.otf
Kanit Thin Italic style Kanit Thin Italic | OpenType | kanit-thinitalic.otf
Kanit ExtraLight style Kanit ExtraLight | OpenType | kanit-extralight.otf
Kanit ExtraLight Italic style Kanit ExtraLight Italic | OpenType | kanit-extralightitalic.otf
Kanit Light style Kanit Light | OpenType | kanit-light.otf
Kanit Light Italic style Kanit Light Italic | OpenType | kanit-lightitalic.otf
Kanit style Kanit | OpenType | kanit-regular.otf
Kanit Italic style Kanit Italic | OpenType | kanit-italic.otf
Kanit Medium style Kanit Medium | OpenType | kanit-medium.otf
Kanit Medium Italic style Kanit Medium Italic | OpenType | kanit-mediumitalic.otf
Kanit SemiBold style Kanit SemiBold | OpenType | kanit-semibold.otf
Kanit SemiBold Italic style Kanit SemiBold Italic | OpenType | kanit-semibolditalic.otf
Kanit Bold style Kanit Bold | OpenType | kanit-bold.otf
Kanit Bold Italic style Kanit Bold Italic | OpenType | kanit-bolditalic.otf
Kanit ExtraBold style Kanit ExtraBold | OpenType | kanit-extrabold.otf
Kanit ExtraBold Italic style Kanit ExtraBold Italic | OpenType | kanit-extrabolditalic.otf
Kanit Black style Kanit Black | OpenType | kanit-black.otf
Kanit Black Italic style Kanit Black Italic | OpenType | kanit-blackitalic.otf

Follow Fontsc

Abous Fontsc

Fontsc.com is formed in the spirit of for fonts, where creative ideas meet beautiful designs as we all know great designs last forever!

Here you can search, browse and download thousands of commercial-quality FREE fonts shared by best font designers.